Station Strategy Group

Providing a high level industry lead on stations, with a particular objective to optimise long term outcomes more efficiently.


To provide a high level industry leadership forum on stations, enabling more efficient decision making and investment choices regarding station management and development, to enhance the station estate and better serve customers and their communities.


  • Articulate, promote and embed the RDG Vision for Stations.
  • Act as a sounding board and advisor for emerging policy developments.
  • Bring together various station workstreams from across the industry (Network Rail, train operators and DfT).


The first Stations Summit was hosted by RDG on 3 December 2014. Stations Summit 2015 was held on 20 October 2015.

We also held a consultation on our draft 'Vision for Stations' between 22 July and 11 September 2015. Read the final Vision for stations: nine principles for the future of Britain's stations (PDF, 1.02Mb)

Members of the Station Strategy Group

Chair: Jeremy Long (MTR)
Deputy Chair: David Biggs (Network Rail)
RDG Lead: Jonathan Chatfield
Members: Alex Foulds (Go-Ahead), Elizabeth De Jong (RDG), Femi Ogunbiyi (RDG), Jayne Maclennan (First Group), Ian Bullock (Arriva), Jonny Wiseman (Stagecoach), Hari Rentala (Dept for Transport), Norrie Courts (Network Rail), Paul Prentice (RDG), Peter Batten (DfT), David Lowrie (Keolis), Ryan Flaherty (Serco), Simone Bailey (Abellio), Stuart Parker (National Express), Tim Hedley-Jones (Virgin)

A- A A+